What Is a QRIS?

  • A QRIS defines “quality child care” and creates stronger learning environments for children using standardized, research based criteria. 
  • A QRIS provides a roadmap and support to improve the quality of early care and education services. 
  • Through the QRIS, early childhood programs are assessed and given a number of “stars” to indicate what level of quality has been reached. 
  • QRIS standards for center-based and family child care include quality indicators that expand on licensing requirements in the areas of: program policies and procedures; administration and staff development; health and safety; and family and community partners.

  • QRIS standards for district Pre-K programs are aligned with the federal quality indicators for district programs. See the QRIS LEA Model for details.

Advantages of QRIS

  • Recognizes a program’s strengths while helping them develop a plan for improvement.
  • Provides access to resources (technical assistance, coaching, training, and financial incentives) that help child care programs improve and sustain higher quality.
  • Informs parents regarding child care choices and become better consumers.
  • Brings community awareness to the critical role that the early years play in preparing children for school and
    for life.

Star Level Definitions

  HIGHEST QUALITY (Far exceeds high quality)

  QUALITY PLUS (Exceeds high quality standards)

  QUALITY (Meets high quality standards)

  PROGRESSING STAR (Approaching high quality standards)

  RISING STAR (Committed to quality improvement)

  NO RATING (Program has chosen not to participate in the QRIS)


Silver State Stars QRIS is a voluntary 5-star system open to all center-based programs, family child care and district pre-k programs.